Neighbor Watersheds

Neighbor Watersheds

Neighbor Watersheds 907 680 sbf_8oge5q

The ancient Hawaiian land division system included mokupuni (island) of Oʻahu was divided into six districts (moku) eighty-one self-sustaining watersheds (ahupuaʻa), which were sometimes divided further into ʻili (sub-watersheds). After creating the Ala Wai Canal and redirecting its tributaries, the Ala Wai Watershed now includes parts of the Waikīkī ahupuaʻa and the Honolulu ahupuaʻa. Although each watershed is unique, the AWWC works to share lessons and best practices with organizations and initiatives in other watersheds across the island and the state.

The bay that is part of the Ala Wai Watershed is called Māmala Bay, and its neighbor to the east is Maunalua Bay. Mālama Maunalua is a community non-profit that works to preserve Maunalua Bay and its watershed through cleanups, invasive algae removal, and watershed stewardship.

Paepae o Heʻeia is a non-profit dedicated to caring for the Heʻeia Fishpond and its watershed.

The Waiheʻe Ahupuaʻa Initiative is a partnership of the Board of Water Supply, Kualoa-Heeia Ecumenical Youth Project (KEY), and Hui O Koolaupoko.

The Koʻolau Mountains Watershed Partnership (KMWP) is an alliance of major public and private landowners (in the Ala Wai Watershed mainly DLNR DOFAW and the Board of Water Supply, and to a lesser extent Kamehameha Schools, Lyon Arboretum, and DHHL). The KMWP is one of many Watershed Partnerships across the state in the Hawaiʻi Alliance of Watershed Partnerships (HAWP) who coordinate across property boundaries to address invasive species and ungulates that threaten the health of native Hawaiian forest.

The Waiʻanae Mountains Watershed Partnership (WMWP) is part of the Hawaiʻi Alliance of Watershed Partnerships (HAWP), and the equivalent of the KMWP in the Waiʻanae Mountain Range.

Cover photo credit: Mālama Maunalua

Leave a Reply